Bhringraj Oil

I’ve always loved oiling my hair. The gentle massage, the warmth of the oil…ahh, only one who has experienced knows. Ever since I switched from chemical shampoos to natural ones I also incorporated some ayurvedic hair oils. I found curry leaves oil, amla oil and bhringraj oil to be very useful. Instead of buying an oil with all these ingredients I decide to make them myself and try one at a time.

Today I’ll be share how to make Bhringraj oil and its super easy! While writing this post I did a little research and found that bhringraj is a wonderful herb and has many many benefits. Bhringaraj is considered as the main herb for the hair care. It is a wonderful liver tonic, provides relief from cold & cough, used as dye just to name a few.

DSC05839-edt
Bhringraj Powder and coconut oil

It is always better to use fresh ones but I could only manage to find powder. And coconut oil I used Patanjali as I find it comparatively more reliable than the rest.

DSC05848-edt
2 tbl spoon of Bhringraj powder mix in litter water to get a fine paste.

Once the paste of Bhringraj powder mixed in water is ready put a open mouth pan on the gas stove and add about 1 1/2 cup of coconut oil to it. When the oil is warm (not boiling) add the paste to the oil.

DSC05851-edt
Coconut Oil in a wide mouth utensil

After adding the paste to the warm oil bubbles will start forming, be at a safer distance. Wait for the bubbles to come down as the water portion in the paste vaporizes.

DSC05853-edt
As the Bhringraj powder slowly cook on low flame,it releases its medicinal values into the oil.

When all the bubbles disappears, know that there is no more water left ( follow your instincts, experience is the only best teacher) turn off the flame and let it cool down.

DSC05866-edt
Stained and ready to use! It looks black to deep green but in hand its just greenish

Strain the oil through a strainer and store it in a bottle. The color of the oil as you can see, is dark green. The oil is thicker than plain coconut oil. It has its own aroma, though I liked it, some might not find it very pleasant. I apply it overnight and wash it off the next day. It can also be applied 30 minutes prior to shower also. But like grannies say, the longer the better!

Last words, do not expect wonders. Do not think that hair fall or graying will stop overnight. I enjoy the process, the process of exploring, knowing different herbs and their importance, preparing it and at the end when I use it I derive much more satisfaction than I would have from a store brought one. My hairs definitely feel stronger and hair fall reduced but most importantly I feel better.

Leave a comment